What is the embargo act of eighteen oh seven?

The Embargo Act was signed on December 22, 1807. The anticipated effect of this law was economic hardship for the nations. It was expected to hurt Great Britain and France, and force them to end their molestation of American shipping, respect U.S. neutrality, and cease the policy of impressment.