What is soap made out of?

Soap is traditionally made of lye mixed with fats or oils. The more lye, the stronger the soap. The type of fat used changes the texture and moisturizing ability of the soap. Other ingredients such as perfumes, herbs, and even salt or pumice are added to create unique soaps for specific uses.