What is a bitter pill to swallow?

bitter pill to swallow means An unpleasant fact, disappointment, or humiliation that is difficult to endure.

---

What is a bitter pill to swallow? A bitter pill to swallow is metaphorical and relates to the acknowledgment of a truth that is hard to accept.