What is a tomato horn worm?

According to Wikipedia, a tomato hornworm is the larval (or caterpillar) stage of the Five-Spotted Hawkmoth (manduca quinquemaculata).

---

Tomato hornworms are very large caterpillars with a horn-like tail. Their favorite plant is tomato. Hornworms chew leaves and can completely defoliate plants. They can also chew holes in the fruit.