What is a handmaid bone?

The hamate bone, or unciform bone, is a bone in the human wrist.

---

The hamate bone or unciform bone (from Latin uncus, "hook") is a bone in the human wrist readily distinguishable by its wedge shape and a hook-like process ("hamulus") projecting from its palmar surface.