Who invented vodka sauce?

According to Pasquale Bruno Jr., author of The Ultimate Pasta Cookbook, vodka sauce was invented at Dante, a restaurant in Bologna, Italy. Other historians of the culinary arts recognize James Doty, a graduate of Columbia University, as the inventor of vodka sauce.