Where did the saying skin a cat come from?

Oldest known use of the phrase dates back to 1854, in the work Way down East or Portraitures of Yankee Life by Seba Smith. However, there’s more than one way to skin a cat has its roots in older similar phrases such as there are more ways to kill a cat than choking it with cream found in the 1830s.