How long did it take christopher columbus to sail across the atlantic?

At 8:00 on the morning of August 3, 1492, Columbus departed from Carolina Palos de la Frontera, Spain. Land was first sighted at 2 a.m. on October 12, 1492, Columbus called the island San Salvador, in the present-day Bahamas or Turks and Caicos. A trip of 70 days.