What happens if you get stung by a jellyfish?

Jellyfish can sting if they brush against you when you're swimming in the ocean. You also can get stung if you step on a jellyfish, even a dead one. Usually, jellyfish stings will hurt, but are not emergencies. Most cause pain, red marks, itching, numbness, or tingling.