What is the one point eighteen update in minecraft?

1.18, the first release of Caves & Cliffs: Part II, is a major update to Java Edition released on November 30, 2021. It completely overhauls the Overworld generation, with larger caves, taller mountains, new mountain biomes, new cave biomes, and flooded caves.