What's the smallest state in the in the united states?

At 1,545 square miles, Rhode Island is the smallest state in the union.

---

By land area, the smallest state is Rhode Island, at 1,545 square miles. By population, the smallest state is Wyoming, with fewer than 600,000 persons.