How long do you boil a three pound lobster?

16 minutes. Add 3 minutes per pound for each additional pound thereafter. For example, a 2 pound lobster should boil for 13 minutes and a 1.5 pound lobster should boil for 11.5 minutes. Times are for hard shell lobsters, if cooking new shell reduce boiling or steaming time by three minutes.