How many years did wayne gretzky play in the n. h. l.?

Wayne Douglas Gretzky, born January 26, 1961, is a Canadian ice hockey player and former head coach. He played 20 seasons in the National Hockey League for four teams from 1979 to 1999. Edmonton Oilers (1979–1988). Los Angeles Kings (1988–1996). St. Louis Blues (1996). New York Rangers (1996–1999)