When did biggy smalls get shot?

The Notorious B.I.G., a.k.a., Biggie Smalls, was tragically shot and killed on March 9, 1997, at 12:47am. The culprits were most likely some hired thugs retaliating for the death of Tupac Shakur, which was erroneously blamed on Big instead of the real culprit, Suge Knight.