What is the schrodinger's cat theory?

Schrodinger’s Cat was a thought experiment where a cat was trapped in a box with a bomb, which had a 50% chance of killing it. Until the box was opened, and the state of the cat was observed, the cat was considered to be in a superposition of being both alive and dead.