What is a kolenda?

The concept of kolenda in the Dubrovnik area stems largely from congratulatory, often jocular, and singing during the feast days of the Old and New Year. Less is known of the meaning of Kolenda as a personal name that was engendered by the Dubrovnik Middle Ages.