What does baking soda do for a cake?

Both baking powder and baking soda are chemical leavening agents that cause batters to rise when baked. The leavener enlarges the bubbles which are already present in the batter produced through creaming of ingredients. The baking soda mostly neutralizes the acids in the recipe.