What kind of animal is tigger from winnie the pooh?

Tigger is a fictional character, an anthropomorphic stuffed tiger. He was originally introduced in the 1928 story collection The House at Pooh Corner, by A. A. Milne. Like other Pooh characters, Tigger is based on one of Christopher Robin Milnes stuffed toy animals.