How do i craft a diamond pickaxe?

To make a diamond pickaxe, place 3 diamonds and 2 sticks in the 3x3 crafting grid. It is important that the diamonds and sticks are placed in the exact pattern as the image below. There should be 3 diamonds placed in the first row. In the second row, 1 stick should be in the middle box.