How many people get eaten by sharks each year?

There are no known cases of anyone actually being eaten by a shark. Sharks evidently do not care for the taste of humans. However, there are about 6 fatal attacks per year worldwide. Most of these are from the shark confusing a swimmer with its normal prey: fish or seals.