Do you have to be a doctor to be an anesthesiologist?

Yes. Anesthesiologists must first obtain a Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy degree. Then they take a four year residency to specialize in anesthesiology

---

Anesthesiologists are doctors, either m.d. (medical doctor), of d.o.(doctor of osteopathy).