Do babies dream before they're born?

REM sleep has been observed in babies in utero between 25-28 weeks. Since REM sleep is so closely related to dreaming, some think this is evidence of dreaming before birth.

---

That isn't known. Most dreams are based on experience, so it's probably unlikely. But there would have to be studies and this isn't something scientists have made a priority.