Who wrote thousand leagues under the sea?

Jules Verne wrote the book Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea, about the underwater adventures of Captain Nemo and his crew in the submarine Nautilus. A league is a measure of distance, equal to about three miles, and the title refers to how far they traveled, rather than how deep.