What does the term scot free mean?

The phrase ‘Scot-Free’ means that something or someone is completely free from penalty or harm. T he expression 'Scot-free' originates from the Scandanavian word, 'Skat,' which means “tax” or “payment.” Someone who did not have to pay the tax for some reason was referred to as 'scot-free.'