Is grape considered a berry?

By the formal botanical definition, grapes are considered berries since the firm definition of a berry is a fleshy fruit without a stone that is produced from a single flower containing one ovary. That being said, a berry is not supposed to have a stone, whereas some grapes do have a hard pit.