How do you open a glass jar?

Using the palm of your hand, strike the bottom hard a few times to loosen the seal. Or, use a bottle opener or use the bowl of a spoon, with the inside facing up, under the lid and pry upwards to let in air and break the vacuum. If these do not work, run hot water over the lid and try again.