What is a t. length dress?

This is more appropriately called a "tea length" dress. Emily Post defined this as the appropriate length of a dress for afternoon tea. It falls about 3-4 inches below the knee. Modern lengths place it a few inches above the ankle making it a good alternative to a floor length evening dress.