What happened on july fourth seventeen seventy six?

On July fourth, seventeen seventy-six, colonial leaders approved the final Declaration of Independence for the United States. This year, the city of New York will also celebrate the opening of part of an important symbol of America that has been closed to the public for the past eight years.