What is homogenized milk?

Homogenization is the physical process of breaking down the fat molecules in milk so that they stay integrated rather than separating as cream. Homogenization is an entirely separate process that occurs after pasteurization in most cases.

---

Homogenized milk is milk that is forced through a sieve at high pressure to reduce the size of milk-fat globules and disperse them throughout the liquid. This process prevents milk-fat from floating to the top of milk.