What is red tails?

The Tuskegee Airmen is the popular name of the first all-black military pilot group who fought in World War Two. The group formed the 332nd Fighter Group of the United States Army Air Forces. Because their plane markings were a bright red color, the group’s flyers became known as the Red Tails.