What does the word office gate mean?

The Officegate scandal was a controversy surrounding then Scottish First Minister Henry McLeish in 2001. It resulted in his resignation from the post. Using the word -gate after another noun harks back to the scandal that started at the Watergate Office Building & ended with Nixon's resignation.