What happens when cats drink milk?

When an adult cat drinks milk, the indigestible lactose in its gut may start to ferment, causing a stomach upset." ... If your cat is lactose intolerant, you'll know within 8 to 12 hours because they'll exhibit the symptoms of diarrhea, vomiting, or upset tummy.