How many colonies were in america?

There were Thirteen Colonies, also known as the Thirteen British Colonies or the Thirteen American Colonies. These were colonies of Great Britain on the Atlantic coast of America founded in the 17th and 18th centuries which declared independence in 1776 and formed the United States of America.