What is the difference between a california king and a regular king?

A California King is 4 inches longer, but 4 inches less wide than an Eastern King. A California King is 84 inches long and 72 inches wide. A standard king, called an Eastern King, is 80 inches long by 76 inches wide.

---

The biggest difference between a king size bed and a California king bed is that one bed is shorter and wider, while the other is longer and narrower. A king size bed is 76 inches wide and 80 inches long.