How many canyons are there in the world?

There are over 200 named systems of canyons and gorges that themselves contain many canyons in their own right. Also,there are many large expanses that have numerous smaller canyons, like the Channeled Scablands in Washington state. So there are hundreds to thousands depending on how you measure.