Who is j. b. books?

J. B. Books is a character played by John Wayne in the 1976 movie, The Shootist. He’s an anachronistic notorious gunman who boards in a rooming house owned and run by Lauren Bacall’s character, who has an impressionable teenage son played by Ron Howard, because he’s dying of colon cancer.