Do birds lay eggs in the fall?

Not very many lay eggs in the fall. Although birds lay eggs all year round, the vast majority nest and lay eggs during in April, May, and June. Some begin egg-laying either early or late spring. The time of year birds lay eggs also depends on factors like fitness, day length, and latitude.