Why do potatoes turn brown?

When slicing a potato you cut through the walls of the cells which contain an enzyme that reacts with oxygen in a process called oxidization. This reaction is similar to what occurs when iron reacts with oxygen & water to produce rust. When produce such as potatoes & apples oxidize they turn brown.