What's the difference between a cashier's check and a certified check?

A cashier's check is a check from the bank and guaranteed by the bank. A certified check is a check from one of the bank's customers, which is signed by the customer, the bank guarantees the customer's signature, and that the amount on the check is available – usually the bank sets aside the funds.