Who is max smart?

The main character in “Get Smart.” Maxwell Smart, agent 86, is CONTROL's top spy, or at least that's what he would tell you. His origins, however, are shrouded in mystery. As a spy, much of his personal information must be considered classified, which is why there's so little of it.