What's the difference between ten karat gold and fourteen carat gold?

The higher the Karat rating, the more pure gold. 24 karat is pure gold, lower values are alloys mixed with other metals, such as copper. 10 karat gold is 41.7% gold and 58.3% alloy. 10 karat is the most impure gold can be, yet still be sold as gold, in the USA and some other countries.

---

Gold jewelry is measured by weight in karats.. The more karats a piece of jewelry has, the more valuable it is.