Do groundhogs like mothballs?

Groundhogs hate the smell of mothballs, but they are just not strong enough to scare these rodents away. Try planting some lavender around the garden. Groundhogs find it offensive and avoid it. They also dislike the smell of basil, chives, lemon balm, mint, sage, thyme, rosemary, & oregano.