How rare is the solar eclipse?

Between two and five solar eclipses occur every year, with at least one per eclipse season. But total solar eclipses are much more rare events occuring somewhere on Earth every 18 months on average. It is estimated that they recur at any given place only once every 360 to 410 years, on average.