What is an a. r. fifteen chambered in?

An AR-15 comes in at least two calibers, most commonly the .223 Remington and the 5.56 NATO version. The NATO version can accommodate both rounds, but the version designated as a .223 should not be loaded with the 5.56 ammunition.