What time of the year do you plant onions?

Plant onions in early spring once the ground is workable. In-ground gardens and raised beds are both excellent options for growing onions. Space onion plants 6 inches apart in rows that are 12 inches apart. Grow them in a sunny spot that has fertile, well-drained soil with a pH of 6.0 to 6.8.