When do dogs start barking?

Canine vocalizations usually begin around 2 to 3 weeks of age, following the period where a puppy's eyes and ears are opened. First vocalizations may be grunts and whines; around 7 or 8 weeks, these will develop into yips and barks, although some dogs wait until closer to 16 weeks to start barking.