Who is the picnic playwright?

William Inge wrote the play "Picnic" in 1953. Inge won the 1953 Pulitzer Prize for Drama for the work, and Logan received a Tony Award for Best Director. The play also won the New York Drama Critics' Circle Award for Best Play of the season.