What does an upside down question mark mean in a text?

An inverted question mark is used when writing in Spanish to mark the beginning of a question or interrogative clause. The Spanish term for it is signo de apertura de interrogación, or opening question mark.

---

It means confusion. Someone didn't understand your text. OR--it's an actual question in a Latin-American language such as Spanish.