How many years of college does it take to become a vet?

It typically takes 8 years of post-secondary schooling to become a veterinarian: four years of undergraduate collegiate study for a bachelor’s degree and four years at an accredited veterinary school to earn a DVM. Veterinary specialties require two to five years of additional residency training.