What was the first steam engine?

The first steam engine to be applied industrially was the "fire-engine" or "Miner's Friend", designed by Thomas Savery in 1698. This was a piston-less steam pump, similar to the one developed by Worcester. Savery made key contributions that greatly improved the practicality.